Sparkles Delights

Delights from Sparkes Kitchen

Lemon Ice-Cream. So so easy! July 29, 2008

Filed under: Dessert — ozsparkles @ 10:48 pm
Tags: ,

This is the most yummy and most easy ice-cream to make as well as very quick! However if you are looking for a low-fat ice-cream, I wouldn’t ever consider this one, using a low-fat cream just doesn’t work, you really need double cream, or cream higher then 35% fat content. It tastes like REAL ice-cream, so creamy and you only need to serve little amounts. It is also nice made with Mandarin juice instead of lemon Juice, (Mandarin ice-cream only has a light taste of mandarin, where I find the lemon ice-cream very lemony and tangy) I must admit this is my favorite ice-cream recipe (and I don’t need to fluff around with the ice-cream maker) Recipe is found in Nigella Lawson’s How to Eat, in the Week-end Lunch section.

Lemon Ice-Cream
Recipe from Nigella Lawson, How to Eat.
3 juicy lemons, perferably unwaxed
420ml double cream
170g icing sugar

Grate the zest from 2 of the lemons. Sqeeze the juice of all three and pour into a small bowl with the zest and icing sugar, stir to combine and leave for 30 minutes, if you can, to let the flavour deepen.

Whip the cream with 3 tablespoons iced water until holds soft peaks, then whisk in the sweetened lemon juice. Tun into a shallow container, cover and freeze- no stiring, crystal-breaking-up, mixing or anything needed-until firm. Place in fridge around 40 minutes before serving to ripen/soften.

 

5 Responses to “Lemon Ice-Cream. So so easy!”

  1. Sally Says:

    Lookin’ good Shazza.
    Will try this when the weather warms up a little I think.

  2. Sparkles Says:

    Sally, I seem to make it more in Winter, it is so nice to have with a really hot and steamy Chocolate pudding or over golden syrup dumpings! I must admit I do use it where I would normally use thicken cream, it gives an extra wow tatse IYKWIM. and it now appears to be a must with Nigella’s Chocolate and Pistachio cake, (which is now Pauls and mine signuate birthday cake) He would perfer it made without the lemon rind in it. both tastes very nice!

  3. Laura @ Hungry and Frozen Says:

    Ooh, this is one of my favourite recipes of Nigella’s. I love how she has so many variations on this recipe too – all delicious!

  4. Gloria Says:

    Love this recipe!!! I love all with lemon I will try very soon!! xxGloria
    http://www.canelakitchen.blogspot.com

  5. Rhyleysgranny Says:

    I have made the no churn pomegranate ice cream and it was amazing. I must try this. I love the tangy taste of lemon.
    xxx


Leave a comment